Caribbean Branch AGM 2017

Friday 26 May 2017

IOSH Caribbean Branch Executive Members 2017/18
Left to right: Stephen Arneaud (Communications Coordinator), Jason Maitland (Secretary), Curt Cadet (Chair), Karen Lopez (Executive Committee Member), Anthony Rocheford (Executive Member), Janelle Duff (Assistant Secretary), Navin Ragoo (Vice Chair), Shazara Ali Bocas (Executive Member), Shazam Edoo (Treasurer), Ria Sooknarine (Communications Coordinator) Missing from photo: LeKeisha Jordon (Barbados Country Coordinator)

The Caribbean Branch hosted its Annual General Meeting on Friday 26th May, 2017 at Courtyard Marriott, Port of Spain, Trinidad.

Dr. Thackwray "Dax" Driver, Chief Executive Officer, The Energy Chamber of Trinidad and Tobago delivered the feature address. Specially invited guests included representatives from the School of Business and Computer Sciences (SBCS), who promoted their programs geared towards careers in Occupational Safety and Health.

Mr. Navin Ragoo, Vice Chair, opened the event with a warm welcome to all.

Members of the IOSH CB listening to Dr. Drivers feature address

This was followed by the feature address delivered by Dr. Thackwray "Dax" Driver entitled "A professional response to HSE and ethics in challenging economic times". Dr. Driver's discourse was well received and elicited keen discussion on the issue of ethics in the profession. The Caribbean Branch was appreciative of the time taken by Dr. Driver to share his experiences around the subject.

Dr. Driver delivering the feature address and being presented with a token of appreciation by Ms. Janelle Duff, Assistant Secretary

The review and confirmation of the 2016 Annual General Meeting minutes followed. Mr. Shazam Edoo, Treasurer, then presented the financial report for the period March 2016 - April 2017.

Mr. Navin Ragoo, Vice Chair, reviewing last AGM Meeting Minutes

Mr. Curt Cadet, Chair, delivered the Chair's annual report, highlighting the Branch's major accomplishments and challenges, accentuating its vision, mission, aims, objectives and strategic plan.

IOSH CB Chair, Mr. Curt Cadet, delivering the Branch's annual report

Mr. Navin Ragoo, Vice Chair, then turned everyone's attention to the IOSH Work 2022 global strategy video, highlighting its vision to enhance the occupational safety and health profession, build strategic collaborative partnerships across industries and strengthen its influence globally through impactful research and development.

Following this, the results of the 2017/2018 elections to the Executive Committee were announced; which were as follows:

  • Chair - Curt Cadet
  • Vice Chair - Navin Ragoo
  • Treasurer - Shazam Edoo
  • Secretary - Jason Maitland
  • Assistant Secretary/ Executive Committee Member - Janelle Duff
  • IPD/CPD Coordinator/ Executive Committee Member - Anthony Rocheford
  • Communications Coordinator/ Executive Committee Member - Stephen Arneaud
  • Communications Coordinator/ Executive Committee Member - Ria Sooknarine
  • Barbados Country Coordinator/ Executive Committee Member - LeKeisha Jordon
  • Executive Committee Member - Shazara Ali Bocas
  • Executive Committee Member - Karen Lopez

Mr. Cadet was invited to say a few words as the newly re-elected Chair for the Caribbean Branch. He used this opportunity to make special mention of the contribution made by Mr. Anthony Rocheford CFIOSH, IPD/CPD Coordinator, over the life of the Caribbean Branch and presented him with an award for his long and meritorious service to the development of the Branch. Mr. Rocheford was one of the founding fathers of the IOSH CB and was instrumental in its development.

Mr. Anthony Rocheford being honored for his dedication to the development of the CB

Ms. Ria Sooknarine, Communications Coordinator, concluded the evening by thanking all for attending and supporting the initiatives of the Caribbean Branch. Sincere appreciation was expressed to Dr. Driver for sharing his thoughts on "A professional response to HSE and ethics in challenging economic times". The representatives of SBCS were also thanked for their time and effort in promoting their programs geared towards careers in Occupational Safety and Health. Appreciation was also extended to all who assisted in arranging the event.

Networking after the event