Skip to content

IOSH competency framework

Develop your skills to the highest standards

Our competency framework reflects best practice in occupational safety and health (OSH). It sets the standards for the skills, knowledge and behaviours OSH professionals need to manage risk and drive change in today’s constantly-evolving workplace.

Our competency framework is designed as an actionable set of standards to help build capacity across our profession. Practical and comprehensive, it includes 69 competencies covering 12 areas in three categories – technical, core and behavioural. We updated it in 2019 after an extensive research project involving a wide range of stakeholders and drawing on a wealth of data.

Your development needs will vary, depending on your role, level, career aspirations, company size and sector, so this isn’t a ‘one size fits all’ tool. You can use the competency framework to help maximise your performance.

Categories and areas of competence

How do I use the competency framework?

If you’re an IOSH member, you can benchmark yourself against the competencies using our self-assessment tool in Blueprint. You’ll complete a self-assessment for each of the three key areas. The competencies are mapped to our member grades.

Step two is to build your personal development plan (PDP) based on the results, your career stage and/or aspirations. Our Blueprint resources library hosts over 1,000 resources to help you maintain existing skills and develop new ones.

Benchmark your skills against our competency framework. Start your self-assessment now.