Who are our representatives?

And how can you get in touch?

Our external representatives sit on committees in a range of organisations and industries. Below is a list of the committees our external representatives sit on, followed by a form you can use to get in touch via IOSH. Please do not contact representatives directly.

If there is a specific industry or committee you would like to reach out to, please indicate this on the form. We will review your request and put you in touch with the relevant external representative(s).


  • Farm Safety Partnership (Ireland) - Aine English
    • Forestry Sub-Group - Gerard Mawn
  • Farm Safety Partnership Board (England) - Alan Plom
    • Transport and Machinery Safety Group - Alan Plom
  • HSE Agricultural Industry Advisory Committee (AIAC) – Alan Plom

Awards panel



  • Construction Industry Advisory Network (CONIAN) Tackling Ill Health Together Group - Judith McNulty-Green
  • Gangmasters and Labour Abuse Authority Construction Forum - Philip Baker
  • MSD Subgroup - Jo Frape
  • HSE Construction Industry Advisory Network (CONIAN) - Michael Cash
  • Safe-T-Cert Joint Standards Advisory Panel - Ruth Wilkinson
  • Site Safe Scotland - Andy McNair
  • The Construction Industry Council (CIC) Health and Safety Panel - Paul Haxell
  • UK Metal Decking Association Ltd - Paul Haxell


  • European Network Education and Training in Occupational Safety and Health (ENETOSH) - Gisela Derrick
  • ISSA Education and Training Section - Gisela Derrick
  • ISSA Special Commission for Prevention - Gisela Derrick

Fire Safety

Fire Sector Federation - Gary Laird

Food Safety

HSE Food Forum - Neil Catton


Safer Needles Network - Chris Beadle

OSH - General

  • Council for Work and Health Board - Bev Messinger
  • Council for Work and Health - Ruth Wilkinson
  • Hazards Forum Board – Ruth Wilkinson
  • Hazards Forum – Richard Jones (voting member)
  • HSE Partnership on Health and Safety in Scotland (PHASS) - Helen Pearson
  • Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) Health and Safety Policy Advisory Group - Les Pearce
  • London Health & Safety Directors Forum - Vanessa Harwood-Whitcher
  • Occupational Safety & Health Consultants Register (OSHCR) - Richard Orton
  • Process Safety Forum - Melvyn Atkins

OSH - Technical

  • British Standards Institution (BSI)
    • CH212 (Biosafety management) - Gary Burns
    • HS/1 committee - Ruth Wilkinson
    • MHE/4 - Gordon Lucas
    • PH4, PH4/11,12,13 - Charles Tracey
    • PH/9 Applied Ergonomics Committee - Dipak Chauhan
  • European Committee for Standardization (CEN) Technical Committee 79/WG1 - Charles Tracey
  • International Organization for Standardisation (ISO)
    • ISO Technical Committee 283 work group (ISO 45001) - Ruth Wilkinson and Dr Ivan Williams Jimenez
    • ISO Technical Committee 94/SC15/WG6 - Charles Tracey
  • Joint Standards Committee for AU/NZS: QR-005 Dependability - Phil Lewis-Farrell
  • RoSPA National Occupational Safety and Health Committee (NOSHC) - Richard Jones
  • Work and Health Unit Occupational Health Expert Group - Richard Jones


  • Accident Prevention and Safety Awareness Cross-Party Group (Holyrood) - Stan Brown
  • All-Party Parliamentary Fire Safety and Rescue Group - Gary Laird
  • All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Occupational Safety and Health (observer) - Ruth Wilkinson 

Rail Safety

  • Office of Rail and Road (ORR) Railway Industry Health and Safety Advisory Committee (RIHSAC) - David Porter
  • Office of Rail and Road (ORR) Risk Management Maturity Model (RM3) Board - David Porter


  • Affinity Health at Work Research Consortium - Kirsty Iliffe and Ruth Wilkinson
  • SAFERA Research Consortium - Mary Ogungbeje
  • WOSnet - Mary Ogungbeje
  • ESTEEM (European Safety Training and Evaluation supporting European Mobility) – Mary Ogungbeje
  • Mental Health Promotion and Intervention in Occupational Settings Project EU Horizon 2020 – Dr Karen Michell
  • National Institute for Health Research - Urgent Public Health Task Group
    • Aerosol Generating Procedures Task and Finish Group - Dr Karen Michell


  • Asbestos Leadership Council - Judith McNulty-Green
  • Construction Dust Partnership - Judith McNulty-Green
  • HSE Healthy Lung Partnership - Michael Edwards
  • HSE Industry & Regulatory Forum on Local Exhaust Ventilation - Michael Edwards
  • Occupational Lung Disease Consultancy Sub-Group - Heather McQueen-Pearson


  • APOSHO OSH Management Committee - HK Branch Chair
  • Center for Safety and Health Sustainability Board - Richard Orton
    • Advisory Council - to be decided 
  • European Network of Safety and Health Professional Organisations (ENSHPO) - Alan Stevens and Bruce Phillips
  • International Network of Safety and Health Practitioner Organisations (INSHPO) - Bev Messinger
  • POOSH Scotland - Karen McDonnell, Ian Waldram
  • Events Industry Forum - Steve Blake

If you would like to contact an IOSH External Representative, please contact us using the form below.

Pronouns are short words that can be used in a sentence in place of a person’s name. We ask for pronouns to ensure that we can address you correctly and respectfully.